Creating loyal customers

It’s no secret that attracting a new customer costs more than increasing the value of an existing customer.
Sophie Lamarche
1 December 2012
Omni-Channel Marketing Campaign
1 min 35
fidelisez votre clientele

It’s no secret that attracting a new customer costs more than increasing the value of an existing customer. The simplest formula to calculate their LTV (long term value) is to take a customer’s average amount purchased per reporting period (e.g. months or quarters), multiply it by the number of periods in the year, then multiply the result by the number of periods that the customer has been with you. For example, if they spent on average $100 per month for two years, their LTV would be $2,400.

To fully capitalize on your customers, so that they reach or exceed your target LTV, you need to establish a retention strategy. Email, a very inexpensive medium, can be a highly effective tool to help you attain your goal.

Here are some useful strategies to consider:

  • Cross-sell your products

In your purchase confirmation emails, propose complementary or similar products. You can also boost sales by bundling products and offering package deals. Following a transaction, offer the customer a discount coupon and motivate them to make another purchase now, instead of waiting for another time.

  • Encourage regular consumption

If you sell a consumable product or service, determine how often each customer buys the item and send them an alert shortly before you anticipate their next purchase. Inform them of new trends, keep an eye on their needs and show them that you’re an expert on this product.

  • Propose higher-value items

A certain time after they make a purchase, offer your customer related products that are of better quality or are more advanced. Send out a series of automated emails to inform them on your full range of products or services, as well as how to get the most from them. For best results, personalize your emails based each customer’s purchase history and shopping behaviour.

  • Create a sense of urgency

Notify your customers by email when an item is about to go out of stock. Indicate that you’re aware of their interest in the product.

  • Show your appreciation

On occasion, send your customers a message conveying your gratitude and acknowledging their contribution to your business. Build a genuine relationship of give-and-take.

Find out how your company can benefit from Dialog Insight.

Read also

Security and conformity

Tracking Pixels in Emails: An Ethical Solution Exists

The CNIL seeks to regulate the use of tracking pixels in emails. Between legal obligations, marketing lobbying, and technical solutions like Dialog Insight, find out how to reconcile compliance, performance, and privacy.

Data Management

Explicit Data vs. Implicit Data in Digital Marketing: How to Use Both to Boost Customer Experience

Customer data falls into two main categories: explicit data, voluntarily provided by the user, and implicit data, inferred from their behaviors. Understanding their complementary roles and knowing how to leverage them together makes it possible to personalize the experience, optimize marketing campaigns, and strengthen customer loyalty.

Omni-Channel Marketing Campaign

Email Marketing vs. SMS Marketing: Which One to Choose?

Email marketing or SMS marketing: Which is more effective to reach your customers? Discover the advantages, limitations, and uses of each channel, along with best practices to combine them and maximize your conversions.

Omni-Channel Marketing Campaign

How to Do a Relationship Marketing Strategy: Types of Strategies + Examples

Discover how to create a customized relationship marketing strategy that strengthens the bond between brand and consumer, leading to scalable growth and long-term benefits.

Personalization, Omni-Channel Marketing Campaign

Automating Customer Lifetime Value (CLTV): The Key to Maximizing Your ROI

The CLTV is a key indicator that measures the total value a customer generates for a company throughout their relationship. It also plays a crucial role in optimizing acquisition and retention costs.

Personalization

3 Personalization Techniques to Increase Audience Engagement

The best approach to be successful with relationship marketing is to make advantage of all the resources at your disposal. However, the reality is that many organizations persist with the same strategy, they find comfortable. Because they are unsure of how they operate or whether they would be helpful to their efforts, they neglect some of the best tools at their disposal. Personalization is a powerful way to engage your audience and build relationships. It helps you to connect with your customers. In this blog post, we will explore the benefits of personalization, the latest personalization techniques, and the tools you can use to get started.

New at Dialog Insight

Every message, on the right channel, at the right time — automatically.

What if your campaigns could find on their own the ideal channel and the perfect moment to generate more impact?With Smart Channel and Omnichannel STO, your campaigns become more engaging and more effective: